IBS Awards for Young Scientists

Professor Ratna Phadke Award For Young Scientist

The Award was established in 2006 to commemorate the memory of Prof. Ratna Phadke, a distinguished scientist in the field of Molecular Biophysics, out of an endowment of Rs.50,000/- made by her husband, Dr. Suresh Phadke and friends.

The Professor Ratna Phadke Award is given to a young scientist below 35 years, every year as on December 31, during the Indian Biophysical Society Annual Symposium.  The Award carries a cash prize of Rs.3000/-.

The nominations for the award may be forwarded by the Supervisor with an abstract of the presentation and bio-data of the nominee (for Research Fellows or PDF/RA/Pool Officer) or by the Head of the Department (if the nominee is a faculty member but below 35 years of age) to the Convenor of the Symposium.

The candidate, who is selected for the award will be asked to deliver an oral presentation during the Symposium.  For this purpose, the selected candidate will be informed at least 15 days prior to the Symposium.


Best Poster Awards

There are five best poster awards as mentioned below. These are given to young scientists below 35 years based on their poster/oral presentation during the IBS Annual Symposium.


D.M. Bose Award


N.N. Dasgupta Award


N.N. Saha Award


A.R. Gopala Ayengar Award


K.S. Korgaonkar Award


R. Srinivasan Award